Welcome to Bhutan

The land of Thunder Dragon, also known as last Shangri-La, is land located country which lies between Tibet in the North and India in the South, East and West.  Bhutan's landscape ranges from subtropical plains in the south to the Sub-alpine Himalayan heights in the North, with some mountain peaks exceeding 7,000 meters (23,000 ft). The state population is 697,000, major number of Buddhist with the second larger number of Hindu.

Thimpu is a capital of Bhutan. The climate of Bhutan varies with altitude, from subtropical in the south to all ever snow in the north. Bhutan has five different seasons: Summer, Monsoon, Autumn, Winter and Spring. Western Bhutan has the heavier monsoon rains; Southern Bhutan has hot humid summers and cool winters; Central and Eastern Bhutan is drier than the West.

Bhutan Government

In November 2001, on the advice of the Fourth king, a committee chaired by the Chief Justice of Bhutan, was formed to draft the constitution of Bhutan. The constitution was launched in 2008 and with it a parliamentary democracy introduced. The progression from Hereditary Monarchy to that of a Parliamentary Democracy has been a carefully managed process that culminated in 2008 when Bhutan held its first elections country wide. The Druk Phunsum Tshogpa was mandated by the people to head the new government with a major victory with 45 elected members, Lyonchen Jigme Y Thinley steered the government with just two opposition members from the People’s Democratic Party in 2008.The term of DPT (Druk Phuensum Tshogpa) has ended and people have chosen PDP (People’s Democratic Party) on 13th July 2013 as the new government. Today Tshering Tobgay is the Prime Minister of the new government.

The organs of the Bhutanese government comprise of the Legislature, Judiciary and the Executive. The ruling political party, the opposition and the National Council now forms the legislative body.